A Curious Chef Goes Vegan!

“I made the choice to be vegan because I will not eat (or wear, or use) anything that could have an emotional response to its death or captivity. I can well imagine what that must feel like for our non-human friends – the fear, the terror, the pain – and I will not cause such suffering to a fellow living being.”
Rai Aren

TRUEEEE. I apologize for the slight hiatus, but about 2 months ago, I decided to make the plunge and go vegan! It’s been a process learning how to adjust my cooking style, but as a chef, I feel like this was my greatest culinary adventure – figuring out how to make my favorite dishes completely vegan. It has been an extremely wonderful and humbling process and I’m so excited to share with you some of my favorite recipes so far! With all the products in the markets today, it’s been ridiculously easy to transition into veganism. There are all sorts of brands that not only mock our traditional animal products, but make them BETTER! I will be featuring some of these brands in my recipes along with my personal recommendations and tips!

A wonderful experience when I first went vegan, was I was able to go to Whole Foods in Richmond and attend a vegan cooking show! These were professional chefs that have made a career by cooking vegan and vegetarian were cooking Iron Chef style for judges. What was even cooler was I was chosen as an AUDIENCE JUDGE! I not only got to attend but I had a first hand experience of how delicious vegan food can be! The secret ingredient was carrot (which I am personally not so much a fan of) but they certainly changed my mind! It was great because I saw so many different ways to incorporate different type of ingredients, and honestly, I haven’t even looked back!


Me with the winning team 🙂

For all those considering going vegan – at least TRY IT! Not only are you benefiting animals and exuding compassion, but I promise you, you will feel better. The physical health benefits associated with my new lifestyle has been incredible. I feel energetic and less sluggish. I actually enjoy eating all my new yummy meals! I also might mention I’ve lost about 13 lbs in these two months 🙂 just a little perk hehe. 

Here’s to a life of practicing veganism and hopefully making a difference to those this affects. I’m excited to share with you ways to make classic recipes vegan and can’t wait to see what new recipes I discover as well!

Leave a Reply

