Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Curry

Hiiii remember me?! Sorry I’ve been MIA – I’ve been finding that the more I cook, the harder it is to remember to blog it :). Especially after the holidays – life’s been a little bit of a blur! However, still been cooking up a storm, especially with my new addition of a slow cooker from my lovely sister! 😊 so I’ve used it before but to me, it was never my go to method of cooking. Well… Now I’m obsessed! It was so easy, so convenient and so delicious! For my first recipe, I decided to make this sweet potato curry! Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 medium onion, coarsley chopped
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, coarsley chopped
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed 
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tbsp mild or hot curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil (can use dried too)
  • 1/2 teaspoon lime zest
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lime juice
  • 3 cups jasmine rice (I just used brown rice)
  • 4 tbsp Greek yogurt (I used sour cream)
  • 4 basil leaves or sprigs (optional) 

  

First, combine your onion, bell pepper, sweet potatoes, garlic and ginger in a 4 quart slow cooker. What I did was prep everything the night before and put the bowl in the refrigerator overnight.

  
In the morning, you combine the broth, curry powder and salt and stir into the slow cookers. Cover and cook for 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low.

  
Once it’s cooked, stir in the basil, zest and lime juice. Serve over 3/4 cup rice, dollop with Greek yogurt/sour cream and enjoy! 

  
This recipe was awesome! It was hearty from the rice but with a little kick of sweetness from the sweet potatoes. The sour cream added a nice tang and i thought helped bring everything together. It was definitely the easiest recipe ever and I would love experimenting with some other ingredients to see how they would go together. Yum! 

Leave a Reply

