Comfort Food Gone Healthy

So if you’ve picked up on anything, you should know that I am a sucker for grilled cheese and tomato soup. It’s the ultimate comfort meal in my opinion – I’m always in the mood for it and it always makes me feel better. For this meal, I tried to put a little spin on one of my favorite meals. Yes, you’ve guessed it – Cauliflower crusted grilled cheese! Sounds weird? Well, it was definitely an interesting dish! Here’s what you’ll need:

1 Head of Cauliflower
1 Large egg
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan Cheese
1 tsp Italian herb seasoning
2 slices of white cheddar (or provolone, which is what I used)

  
First, preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Then, cut up your cauliflower and place in the food processor. Blend it all up until it becomes kind of like a rice size. Make sure to cut up the cauliflower in small pieces to help out the food processor. Once it is all blended, then place in a large bowl and microwave. Microwave in increments so you can mix it up and make sure to cook it evenly. Basically, you’re doing this so that you can dry out the cauliflower. First, microwave for 2 minutes. Take it out, mix it up, and back in the microwave for 3 minutes. Repeat and microwave for 2 increments of 5 minutes. Once it is dried out and slightly clumpy, mix the egg, parmesan cheese, and italian herb seasoning until it forms like a paste that you would be able to mold.

   
 
  
Next, divide the paste into 4 sections and then form those sections into little bread looking slices. Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. Top the “bread” with your cheese slices and broil in the oven for another 5 or so minutes. I very clearly did not know how to broil anything in the oven, so a few smoke alarms went off during the process. **SIDE NOTE: Does anyone reading have any tips for how to broil? I know what it’s supposed to be doing, but basically…how? Google was helpful but I didn’t know if there were any tips or tricks!**

  
  
Once the cheese is gooey and melted, dip in your favorite soup (We used roasted red pepper to jazz it up) and enjoy!

  
This was a pretty interested dish. The cauliflower bread ended up tasting kind of like a mozzarella stick – which I’m not sure is a bad thing! It was definitely delicious, but I would like to maybe try different cheese (or actually follow the recipe). It kind of fell apart a little bit once you bit into it, but overall I liked it. It’s vegetarian and boyfriend friendly, so definitely worth a second try! My oven is also not the best, so I think next time I may try to finish it off in a pan. The “bread” is a little fragile, so I don’t know how well that will go. It was interesting. I’d like to maybe try different spices or seasonings – I need to figure out how to incorporate my red pepper flakes or maybe some hot sauce into the “bread”. Overall, I’d give it a 7/10 but would definitely make it again.

Leave a Reply

