First Meal! 

So I’ve been a little MIA lately due to packing up my life and moving into my first big-girl apartment! I’ve been slowly unpacking (but making sure to stock and equip my kitchen!) so cooking unfortunately took a back seat until we got (semi) settled in! For the first meal I cooked in my new apartment – complete with my brand new stainless steel pots 🙂 – I made my girl Giada’s pasta primavera! It’s a fairly simple recipe, but not simple in flavor! Here’s what you’ll need:

3 carrots, peeled and sliced
2 medium zucchini, sliced
2 yellow squash, sliced
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper and 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced into strips
1/4 cup olive oil
salt & pepper
1 tablespoon of herbs de provence
1 lb farfalle (bowtie pasta)
15 cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup grated parmesan


IMG_5917

First, you need to start prepping your vegetables. Cut up your zucchini squash, carrots, and peppers into slices (or in my case, chunks) and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper, and herbs de provence and then roast in the oven for about 10 minutes.

IMG_5918

While the vegetables are roasting, start cooking your pasta. Make sure to salt the pasta water! While the pasta is cooking, start halving your cherry tomatoes. Once the pasta is cooked and the veggies have roasted, add the cherry tomatoes and vegetables on top of the pasta. Mix together and then top with parmesan cheese and enjoy!

IMG_5919 IMG_5920

This dish was really great because it had a little bit of kick from the peppers and nice herby taste as well. I personally liked the vegetables better as chunks than the strips. It was an easy, simple, weeknight meal with plenty of leftovers 🙂

Leave a Reply

