When life hands you lemons, make Lemon Bundt Cake!

On my culinary journey, I have dabbled in the world of baking. They always say that there are bakers and then there are cooks. I have come to the very definitely conclusion that I am not a baker and I usually fail multiple times before producing a semi-successful dessert. This Lemon Cream Cheese Bundt Cake is no exception. Here’s what you’ll need:

Cake:

1 box of yellow cake mix
1 cup milk
1 package of cream cheese (3 oz – make sure you pay attention to the size of the cream cheese you’re using)
2 tablespoons of lemon zest
1/4 cup lemon juice
3 eggs

Lemon Glaze:

2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Seems like a pretty simple recipe right? Well this was an experience…

IMG_4800

First, you need to make your cake batter. Combine the cake mix, milk, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, eggs, lemon zest, lemon juice and cream cheese and whip until smooth.

IMG_4799 IMG_4801

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees and bake for about 45 minutes. Make sure you always test the inside of the cake to make sure it’s fully cooked. Sometimes you’ll need to put it in for a few minutes longer – I ended up cooking mine for about 55 minutes total. So, simple receipe, not too labor intensive, should come out great right? Well here was attempt number one…

IMG_4790

Your guess is as good as mine as to why this was my end result. Absolute mess, but still had a decent flavor, so I decided to give it another try…

IMG_4803

Yay! Success! Looks beautiful and it came right out of the pan easily as soon as I flipped it on the cooling rack. Now that we have this beautiful cake, it’s time to make our glaze. It is literally just whisking together 2 cups of powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice. Make sure to leave some for the cake! 😉 Once you have this wonderful glaze, it’s time to top your cake and enjoy!

IMG_4804

Now that’s more like it! It was so delicious – you got a wonderful kick of acid from the lemon glaze and a moist yet not dense cake that soaked up all of that lemon flavor. So delicious! I wish baking just wasn’t so difficult – I find I have a hard time with exact measurements :). But, I think this was a good experience for me because it reminded me that I am still messing around with recipes and different techniques, so it’s important to not get discouraged and give up when one recipe doesn’t work. I’m glad I tried it again because now I can only get better! Would definitely like to play with flavors and see what other type of glazes could be added or contrast the lemon with another cake flavor. I think it also needs some sort of topping – fresh fruit possibly? Overall though, super yummy!

One thought on “When life hands you lemons, make Lemon Bundt Cake!

Leave a Reply

