It’s the start of cookout season…

And what better way than to make a fresh yet comforting coleslaw! My company is having a Memorial Day BBQ for lunch and since a staple of any good cookout is a coleslaw, I decided to dabble with making a yummy slaw! If you’ve been paying attention, you know how much I love spice/heat, so obviously I made a Jalapeno Coleslaw! Here’s what you’ll need:

For the Dressing:
1/3 cup sour cream
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons mayonnaise (since I think mayo is super gross, i went with a vegan mayo!)
3 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons lime juice plus 1/3 teaspooon lime zest
3 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro
1 tablespoon finely minced garlic (the recipe calls for 3, i only used 1)
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon pepper

For the Slaw:
1 large head of green cabbage – finely shredded on a mandoline or by hand
1 large carrot, peeled and grated
1 large jalapeno, stemmed, seeded and finely diced
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup salt

IMG_4564

First, you can get start on your dressing. Combine the sour cream, buttermilk, apple cider vinegar, mayonnaise, sugar, lime juice and zest, cilantro, garlic, cumin, and pepper in a small bowl. Whisk until combined.

IMG_4565 IMG_4566

Next, start to make your slaw. Chop up your cabbage. So – this step is i guess up to your preference. I personally do not own a mandoline, so I had to chop up by hand. I have a grater that grates super small, so I gave it a rough chop. It left the cabbage pieces a little large than probably traditional slaw, but I’m sure that is up to how you would like your cabbage 🙂 Then, grate your carrots – I used two because I am making this for quite a few people so I wanted to make sure there were enough carrots. Next, stem and seed your jalapeno and dice. Toss in with your sugar and salt and make sure it’s all fully combined.

IMG_4567

Once it’s fully combined, pour in your dressing and fully combine! You can add in salt and pepper to taste based on your preference!

IMG_4568

Overall, I found it sweet yet slightly tangy from the apple cider vinegar. The heat from the jalapeno doesn’t hit you up front, but you get that little bit of heat in the aftertaste which helps finish off the bite with a nice balance. I personally like the large pieces of cabbage, but that again is certainly up to you. Overall, I think it’s pretty decent for my first coleslaw – I’m not the biggest coleslaw fan so I really wanted to find one that I would be willing to eat over and over. The dressing does seem a little runny so maybe finding something to help thicken it would help. I would like to make it again and try experimenting with different types of cabbages or vegetables and maybe add some more heat.

Leave a Reply

