Happy Mother’s Day! (2 weeks late)

So, life got in the way so I’m a little bit of a slacker here! My mother is one of my favorite people – I feel very lucky that I get to call her mom ๐Ÿ™‚ She is always there to lend a hand to anyone in need, always a shoulder to cry on, gives sound advice, and knows exactly what to say to put a smile on your face. Unfortunately, with such busy lives, there’s never enough time to spend those moments together. For Mother’s Day, I really wanted to wake her up with a delicious homemade breakfast – and I think I did just that! ๐Ÿ™‚ Pancakes were very prominent throughout my childhood, so I decided to make her Orange Pancakes with a Berry Orange sauce!ย Here’s what you’ll need:

For the Pancakes:
1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup orange juice
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
2 tablespoons melted butter
1/2 teaspoon orange zest

For the Berry-Orange Sauce:
1 cup frozen mixed berries (I used a blackberry/strawberry/blueberry mix)
2 tablespoons orange juice
1 teaspoon orange zest
1-2 teaspoons sugar (depending on sweetness)

IMG_4472

First, you will need to make your pancake batter. Combine the milk and orange juice in a bowl. Then, in another bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and stir to combine. Whisk the egg, melted butter and orange zest into the milk and orange juice. Then, pour the dry into the wet ingredients and fully combine.

IMG_4473ย ย IMG_4474

Then, scoop about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot griddle and cook until bubbles appear on the top. Flip pancakes until golden brown on each side.

IMG_4476ย IMG_4477

Now, for your sauce, in a small pan, combine the berries, orange juice, orange zest and sugar and bring to a boil. Smash the berries with the back of your spoon and then let it simmer for about 4-5 minutes or until it’s a thick syrupy consistency.

IMG_4475

Pour over the top of your pancakes, accompany with some eggs and bacon, and you have made yourself a delicious Mother’s Day breakfast!

IMG_4481

This was a wonderful little treat. It had a subtle flavor of orange that really elevated the normal pancake. There was an added sweetness from the berries but wasn’t overly sweet. The blackberries were a little tart which added a wonderful layer of flavor. I will say that I was a little nervous about the pancakes because it seemed like they were browning faster than they were cooking! I was worried about the being underdone, but they ended up being cooked all the wall through and very wonderful. I think my mother enjoyed it, which is ultimately all that matters ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Mother’s Day Momma – i love you! (with a little shoutout to my two sister’s as well!)

IMG_0229

Leave a Reply

