WWGD – What Would Giada Do?

While I am still feeling the pain of trying to keep my waistline slim but also satisfying my sweet tooth, I look to Giada to give me something inspiring. As always, she comes through for me. For the first time in the history of my obsessive Food Network watching, I have finally made something I saw on her show! The best way to keep your lb’s down but give into that dessert craving, try making her Angel Food Cake with Lemon Honey Yogurt Sauce. I’ve been like 0 for 100000 when it comes to making cakes, but making angel food cake is literally one of the easiest recipes I have made! Light and airy with a touch of lemon, drizzled with the yogurt sauce – it’s delicious! And if I can toot my own horn, it tasted just like it was from the store. Here’s what you’ll need for the cake:

12 egg whites – room temperature
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1 1/4 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon lemon zest, plus extra for garnish
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 cup cake flour
Fresh mint sprigs

For the sauce:
1 cup plain yogurt (i used non-fat)
1/4 cup honey
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Special equipment: 10-inch nonstick angel food cake pan (Can find at your local grocery stores)

IMG_4370

First, you will need to preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Next, mix in a large mixing bowl (and she used a hand mixer but I just used a regular mixer) mix together (medium speed) the egg whites, salt and cream of tarter. The cream of tarter helps give the egg whites body, so they will fluff up nicely. Once they are frothy, then add the vanilla extract, lemon juice and lemon zest.

 IMG_4372

Beat on high until you form soft peaks (like 2 to 4 minutes). Gradually add the sugar and beat on medium speed until it forms stiff peaks. Add the sugar into like 3 separate bunches. This helps make sure that there are no lumps and all of the sugar mixes in well.

IMG_4373  IMG_4374

Once you have your stiff peaks, you then want to sprinkle the flour over the mixture and fold in with a spatula. Do the same thing as you did with the sugar – gradually mix it in to prevent any type of clumping.

IMG_4375 IMG_4376

Then, scoop your mixture into your angel food cake pan and bake for 30-40 minutes until the top is browned. Invert the pan on a wire rack to cool completely, about 1 hour.

IMG_4377  IMG_4380

Don’t mind my deflated looking cake (the spatula kinda broke it) But also make sure that if you aren’t using a non-stick pan that you grease your pan…..

For the sauce, mix together yogurt, honey, and lemon juice until smooth. Then pour over top of our cake and garnish with lemon zest or mint sprig.

IMG_4378 IMG_4379

Again, super delicious. It was light and airy but also decadent. I personally really enjoyed the sauce, although my testers weren’t a fan. You can add any type of flavoring – or no flavor at all – into your cake mixture. Sometimes plain cake with strawberries is the way to go! The hardest part of this was whipping up the egg mixture, but even that was a breeze! I found this recipe interesting because it really showed the science of baking and cooking. Add just a little bit of this cream of tarter nonsense (which is just a dense powdery substance) and whip it together with some egg whites and sugar, and you’ve got yourself a cake batter! Overall, really excellent dish and I am hopefully going to be perfecting my own recipe and flavoring with this over the years 🙂

Leave a Reply

