Quinoa with Black Beans, Corn & Chipotle Pepper, Lime & Honey Dressing

I used all of my clever jokes on previous posts, so we will just stick with the classic titles. I am always on the search for something healthy, but interesting. I get bored of the same old healthy food, so finding something that is good and good for you is my new mission in life. I also desperately crave spice. Spicy flavor runs through my mind pretty much every time I think about what I want to eat. This dish has all of the above (courtesy of Cookin’ Canuck!) Quinoa, which just feels healthy when you eat it, the corn, black beans, everything points in that healthy direction. It has the warmth from the peppers but the spice is balanced out with the lime juice and honey. Here’s what you need:

1 cup Quinoa
2 cups water
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
2 tsp honey
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp seeded & minced chipotle peppers (with adobo sauce)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup cooked black beans
1/2 cup fresh (or canned) corn
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

IMG_4031

Super simple recipe! Combine the quinoa and water on high heat until the water boils. Once it boils, put it on low heat and cover until all of the water evaporates. (about 15-20 minutes). Meanwhile, you can make your dressing. Combine the honey, lime juice, salt, cumin, and chipotle peppers and whisk together. Once it is all whisked together, slowly whisk in the olive oil. When you’re finished with that, combine 1/2 cup of black beans and 1/2 cup of corn and fold into your quinoa. Pour the dressing over top and mix together. Top with your cilantro and enjoy!

Again, super simple recipe. It had a great balance of flavor. The corn and black beans added a nice heartiness that you can sometimes miss with a vegetarian dish (did I mention it’s completely vegetarian 🙂 ) The chipotle peppers added a nice kick without being too assertive and the cumin added a nice warmth to the dish as well. The lime juice helped bring out the sweetness from the honey and the quinoa was the perfect medium to bring together all these flavors. I have always been a fan of quinoa, but it just continues to impress me with every recipe I incorporate it with. It’s such a versatile grain and holds flavor nicely without taking away from it. Definitely adding this one to my recipe box!

Leave a Reply

